Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Comment on this story.
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Posted: September 26, 2009  : Add to Mixx! Subscribe to stories like this

Athletics: USATF News and Notes, Volume 9, Number 51

Gay and Jeter win again

Running in the last meet of the season, Tyson Gay and Carmelita Jeter each won their respective 100 meter races Friday at the 2009 Colorful Daegu Meeting in South Korea.

In the men's race, American record holder Tyson Gay had a bad start out of the blocks. Powering down the straight, Gay pulled even with the field at the 50m mark and surged to victory in 9.94 seconds. Former world record holder Asafa Powell finished second in 10.00.

Two-time world bronze medalist Carmelita Jeter dominated the women's 100m. Shooting out of the blocks, Jeter sprinted to the win in 10.83. Her nearest competitor, Sherone Simpson, was over a half second behind, finishing in 11.35. Gloria Asumnu finished third with the same time and three-time world 200m champion Allyson Felix was fourth in 11.50.

2008 Olympic champion Dawn Harper took second in the women's 100m hurdles in 12.75. Running into a strong headwind, three-time world medalist Wallace Spearmon won the men's 200m in 20.29.

For more information and complete results from the 2009 Colorful Daegu Meeting, visit

Team USA honored with top award

Team USA this week received the Field Scovell Award from the Dallas All Sports Association (DASA) in recognition of its world-leading excellence in international competition.

Named after DASA founder and Texas businessman Field Scovell, the award is the highest honor DASA gives as part the philanthropic organization's program to award recognition and scholarship grants to deserving individuals and groups.

DASA made the award at its annual Awards Banquet, held at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas. Jon Drummond, USATF's Athletes Advisory Committee chair, a graduate of Texas Christian University in Fort Worth and a current resident of the Dallas-Fort Worth area, accepted the award, presented by former NFL star Everson Walls, on behalf of Team USA and USA Track & Field.

Other 2009 DASA award winners included Joe Montana receiving the Lamar Hunt Award, George Gervin receiving the Legends Award, Deion Sanders receiving the Emmitt Smith End Zone Award, and Randy Allen receiving the Tom Landry Coach of the Year award.

"We thank the Dallas All Sports Association for recognizing the achievements of our national track and field team," USATF CEO Doug Logan said. "Our athletes achieved true excellence at the World Championships, with their athletic performances as well as their comportment. It is an honor to be recognized by DASA in the same company as some of the greatest legends in sports history."

At the 2009 World Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Berlin, Team USA topped the medal table with 22 medals, including a world-leading 10 golds.

For more information on the Dallas All Sports Association, visit

About USA Track & Field
USA Track & Field (USATF) is the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States. USATF encompasses the world's oldest organized sports, some of the most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the #1 high school and junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult runners in the United States.

For more information on USATF,

Subscribe to the Runner's Web Weekly Digest
Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of News
Runner's Web FrontPage

© 1996 - 2009 - All rights reserved.
  Google Search for:

Q: size=31 maxlength=255 value="" style="font-size:8pt; background-color: #FFCC33; color: #000000">   in   Web Site       Translate