Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Comment on this story.
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Posted: December 6, 2009  : Add to Mixx! Subscribe to stories like this

Athletics: Dozens honored at USATF Awards Breakfast

INDIANAPOLIS - At the Annual Awards Breakfast Saturday morning at the 2009 USA Track & Field Annual Meeting, award winners were announced for their achievements on and off the track. Winners are listed below:

Youth Athletics Awards:
Frank Savigne Award - Henry McCullough
Bill Hargrove Award - Nebraska Association
Masters Long Distance Running Awards:
Otto Essig Award - David Katz and David Oja
Paul Spangler Award - Evelyn Tripp and Henry Sefnewsky
Outstanding Athletes - Male: Paul Uftenberg  Female: Colleen De Reuck and Joan Benoit Samuelson
Masters Track and Field Awards:
David Palm Distinguished Service Award - John Sato
Race Walk Athletes of the Year - Female: Darlene Backling Male: Chris Schmidt
Associations Awards:
Horace Crow Jr. Award - Paul Morency
Most Improved Award - Southern Association
Cross Country: 
Male Athlete of the Year - German Fernandez
Female Athlete - Nealy Spence
Cross Country Council Award - Peter Glavin
Masters Harriers of the Year - Simon Gutierrez and Carmen Ayela-Troncoso
Mountain/Ultra/Trail Running Awards:
Mountain Runners of the Year - 
Male - Joseph Gray
 Female - Brandy Erholtz 
Masters Male - Dave Dunham 
Masters Female - Laura Haefeli
Contributor of the Year - Paul Kirsch
Ultrarunners of the Year - 
Male - Michael Wardian
Female - Kami Semick
Masters Male - Roy Pirrung
Masters Female - Anita Ortiz
Men's Long Distance Running Awards:
H. Browning Ross Merit Award - Jack Daniels
Allan Steinfeld Award - Carey Pinkowski
Scott Hamilton Memorial Award - Jack Leydig
Robert E. DeCelle Jr. Award - Meb Keflezighi
Women's Long Distance Running Awards:
Runner of the Year - Magdalena Lewy Boulet 
Marja Bakker Contributor of the Year - Elizabeth Phillips
Athletics for the Disabled Awards:
Distinguished Service Awards - Lionel Leach and Dorothy Dawson
Officials Awards:
Andy Bakjian Award - Ginger Mullineaux
Horace Crow Jr. Award - Win Eggers
Charles M. Ruter Award - Karen Krsak
John R. Davis Memorial Award - Finn Hanson
Jim Grey Humanitarian Award - Val Foss
U.S. Track Meet Directors Association Awards:
Howard Schmertz Lifetime Achievement Award - Brian Brown
Meet Director of the Year Award - Ray Lump
Sports Medicine and Science Awards:
Dr. C. Harmon Brown Award - Jack Ranson, Rick McGuire and Ralph Vernacchia
Women's Track and Field Awards:
Joseph Robichaux Award - Gary Winkler
C.C. Jackson Awards - Brittney Reese and Sanya Richards
Men's Track and Field Awards:
Harrison Dillard Award - Tyson Gay
Glenn Cunningham Award - Bernard Lagat
Jim Thorpe Award - Dwight Phillips
Al Oerter Award - Christian Cantwell
John Bennett Award - Trey Hardee
Roy Griak Distinguished Service Award - Ed Gorman

For more information on USA Track & Field and the 2008 USATF Annual Meeting, visit:

About USA Track & Field
USA Track & Field (USATF) is the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States. USATF encompasses the world's oldest organized sports, some of the most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the #1 high school and junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult runners in the United States.

For more information on USATF, visit

Subscribe to the Runner's Web Weekly Digest
Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of News
Runner's Web FrontPage

© 1996 - 2009 - All rights reserved.
  Google Search for:

Q: size=31 maxlength=255 value=""style="font-size:8pt; background-color: #FFCC33; color: #000000">   in   Web Site       Translate