Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Posted: August 17, 2023:  

Athletics:More top athletes at the BMW BERLIN MARATHON

This year's BMW BERLIN MARATHON will take place on September 24. This major running event is one of the most prestigious marathons in the world. SCC EVENTS as organizer expects more than 45,000 runners from about 150 nations. In addition to the huge field of amateur athletes, the international as well as the national top runners, skaters, handbikers and wheelchair athletes will compete.

Catherine Debrunner, between Manuela Schär (left) and Susannah Scaroni (right) at the winner's ceremony of the BMW BERLIN MARATHON 2022.Photo credit: SCC EVENTS/Jean-Marc Wiesner

International world class

As already announced in the press release of SCC EVENTS on July 13, 2023, the world record holder Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) and the winner of the TCS London Marathon 2022, Amos Kipruto (KEN), will start in the German capital. With Tigst Assefa (ETH) as course record holder and winner of the BMW BERLIN MARATHON 2022 as well as Sheila Chepkirui, winner of the GENERALI BERLINER HALF MARATHON 2022, the women's field is just as high-class.

National top field

In our press release of 15.08.2023 we announced the start of the following national athletes. Amanal Petros (MARATHON TEAM BERLIN) holds the German records for both the marathon and half marathon distances. Besides Petros, Simon Boch, Konstantin Wedel as well as Hendrik Pfeiffer were mentioned. Among the women we announced Miriam Dattke, Domenika Mayer (both LG Telis Finanz Regensburg), Deborah and Rabea Schöneborn (both MARATHON TEAM BERLIN) and Kristina Hendel (LG Braunschweig).

More top runners

Now more top runners have been announced who will lace up their shoes at the BMW BERLIN MARATHON. Eight runners with best times under 2:06 hours are currently listed. In front: Ghirmay Ghebreslassie (ERI) with 2:05:34, Ronald Korir (KEN) with 2:05:37 and Tadu Abate (ETH) with 2:05:38 hours (third in Berlin last year) as well as last year's runner-up Mark Korir (KEN, 2:05:49). In the women's race, after Assefa and Chepkirui, there are five athletes with personal-bests under the sound barrier of 2:20 hours: Tigst Abayechew (ETH, 2:18:03), Workenesh Edesa (ETH, 2:18:51), Hiwot Gebrekidan (ETH, 2:19:10), Hitomi Niiya (JPN, 2:19:24), Zeineba Yimer (ETH, 2:19:28). For more information and runners:inside see tables below.

Strong skaters at the start

The skater course record of 56:46 minutes was set by Belgian Bart Swings (Powerslide) in 2022. This year he could celebrate his ninth victory in Berlin. In his team: Felix Rijhnen from Darmstadt, winner of 2019, as well as Jason Suttels (BEL). Rollerblade also comes up with strong riders: Patxi Peula (ESP) and Carlos Tarazona (VEN). The EOSkates World Team sends Nolan Beddiaf - European Marathon Champion of 2021 - and Martin Ferrié (both FRA) into the race. In the women's race, all eyes are on last year's winner Marie Dupuy. Josie Hofmann (both Powerslide) has equally justified hopes of a place on the podium. But Lianne van Loon (NL/Doubleff) and Sara Arregui (ESP) (last year's runner-up and third-place finisher) are also expected, as are Marine Lefeuvre (FRA/EOSkates) and Marine Balanant (FRA/Bont).

Handbikers and wheelchair athletes

In the women's racing wheelchair category, Manuela Schär will be an exciting part of the race for victory. The Swiss is featured on the medals for the wheelchair racers this year. She will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame (more info here). Last year's winner Catherine Debrunner (SUI) will also start and is considered the favorite. In the wheelchair racers, Marcel Hug (SUI) is considered a candidate to win. The American Daniel Romanchuk and the Japanese Tomoki Suzuki could give him a hard time. Johnboy Smith is also a candidate for the podium. In the handbike elite, the Germans Katrin Möller and Vico Merklein are claiming a top place for themselves, but whether it will be enough for the very front remains to be seen.

Tigst Assefa	ETH	2:15:37
Sheila Chepkirui	KEN	2:17:29
Tigist Abayechew	ETH	2:18:03
Workenesh Edesa	ETH	2:18:51
Hiwot Gebrekidan	ETH	2:19:10
Hitomi Niiya	JPN	2:19:24
Zeineba Yimer	ETH	2:19:28
Etagegn Woldu	ETH	2:20:03
Gutemi Imana	ETH	2:20:11
Delvine Meringor	ROU	2:20:49
Dera Dida	ETH	2:21:11
Yeshi Kalayu Chekole	ETH	2:21:17
Fikrte Wereta	ETH	2:22:50
Charlotte Purdue	GBR	2:23:26
Margaret Wangari Muriuki	KEN	2:23:52
Senbere Teferi	ETH	2:24:11
Malindi Elmore	CAN	2:24:50
Deborah Schöneborn	GER	2:25:52
Fabienne Schlumpf	SUI	2:26:14
Annie Frisbie	USA	2:26:18
Miriam Dattke	GER	2:26:50
Eliud Kipchoge	KEN	2:01:09
Amos Kipruto	KEN	2:03:13
Ghirmay Ghebreslassie	ERI	2:05:34
Ronald Korir	KEN	2:05:37
Tadu Abate	ETH	2:05:38
Philemon Kiplimo	KEN	2:05:44
Enock Onchari	KEN	2:05:47
Mark Korir	KEN	2:05:49
Andualem Belay Shiferaw	ETH	2:05:52
Haftu Teklu	ETH	2:05:53
Amanal Petros	GER	2:06:27
Josphat Boit	KEN	2:06:34
Tadesse Abraham	SUI	2:06:38
Andamlak Belihu	ETH	2:06:40
Okubay Tsegay	ERI	2:06:46
Abel Kipchumba	KEN	2:06:49
Yusuke Ogura	JPN	2:06:51
Denis Chirchir	KEN	2:07:17
Dominic Nyairo	KEN	2:08:13
John Hakizimana	RWA	2:08:18

Entry opportunities and media accreditation

While registration to participate in the 49th BMW BERLIN-MARATHON start place lottery has closed, there are still opportunities for a secure start place. Through our charity partners and our official travel agents, there is still the possibility to secure an entry for the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON 2023. For inline skaters, registration is still open. The submission of the accreditation application for the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON 2023 is from now on only possible via online form on our website in the press area. Photo download Photos in high-resolution quality can be used free of charge for editorial purposes, provided the source of the photo is acknowledged. 1.) Amanal Petros (MARATHON TEAM BERLIN) competes as the holder of the German marathon record at the BMW BERLIN MARATHON. Photo credit: SCC EVENTS_Ostkreuz: Sebastian Wells 2.) Debbie Schöneborn of MARATHON TEAM BERLIN was the fastest German runner at the GENERALI BERLINER HALF MARATHON 2023. Photo credit: SCC EVENTS_Petko Beier 3.) Bart Swings won the BMW BERLIN MARATHON inline skating 2022. Photo credit: SCC EVENTS/Marvin Güngör 4.) Marie Dupuy won the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON inline skating 2022. Photo credit: SCC EVENTS/Marvin Güngör 5.) Marcel Hug as the winner at the BMW BERLIN MARATHON 2022. Photo credit: SCC EVENTS/Jean-Marc Wiesner 6.) Catherine Debrunner, between Manuela Schär (left) and Susannah Scaroni (right) at the winner's ceremony of the BMW BERLIN MARATHON 2022. Photo credit: SCC EVENTS/Jean-Marc Wiesner 7.) Handbike winner Katrin Möller between Yvonne Pijahn (left) and Annett Zenker-Urban (right) at the BWM BERLIN-MARTHON 2022. Photo credit: SCC EVENTS/Jean-Marc Wiesner 8.) Handbike winner of the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON 2022 Joseph Fritsch between Vico Merklein (left) and Johannes Heter (right). Photo credit: SCC EVENTS/Jean-Marc Wiesner

Follow the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON on Facebook, and Instagram.

Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of Article
Runner's Web FrontPage