Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Subscribe to stories like this

Posted: October 7, 2016  

Athletics: This Week in Running for Week Ending October 2nd

From The Analytical Distance Runner, the newsletter for the Association of Road Racing Statisticians with a focus on races, 3000m and longer, including road, track, and cross-country events. The ARRS has a website at

From Ken Young -

10 Years Ago- Mbarak Hussein (USA) won the Medtronic Twin Cities (MN/USA) Marathon and the USA marathon title with a 2:13:52. Simon Sawe (USA) and Ryan Shea (USA) followed at 2:14:09 and 2:14:58 respectively. Marla Runyan (USA) was the women's champion, finishing 1st in 2:32:17. Mary Akor (USA) was next at 2:33:50 and Zoila Gomez (USA) was 3rd at 2:35:26.

20 Years Ago- Haile Gebreselasie (ETH) defeated Paul Tergat (KEN) to win the Memorial Peppe Greco (ITA) 10K, 28:42 to 28:44. Assefa Mezgebu (ETH) was 3rd in 28:46 as east Africans dominated the race.

30 Years Ago- Takeyuki Nakayama (JPN) won the gold medal at the Asian Games (KOR) Marathon, nearly two minutes of silver medalist Hiromi Taniguchi (JPN), 2:08:21 to 2:10:08. Jae-Song Yoo (KOR) collected the bronze medal at 2:16:55.

40 Years Ago- Takeshi So (JPN) won the 51st edition of the Kosice (SVK) Marathon by 7.5 seconds over Barry Watson (ENG), 2:18:42.4 to 2:18:49.9. Finns Vilho Paajanen and Jukka Toivola followed at 2:19:04.4 and 2:19:37.6 respectively.

50 Years Ago- Michel Jazy (FRA) won the 5000m at the FRA-GBR-FIN meeting, clocking a 13:46.4. Derek-Austin Graham (NIR) took 2nd at 13:49.6 while Allan Rushmer (ENG) was 3rd at 13:54.4.

60 Years Ago- Ron Clarke (AUS) won a 3000m in Australia with a 8:23.4.

70 Years Ago- Andras Csaplar (HUN) won the Hungarian marathon title with a 2:52:40.

80 Years Ago- Bronislaw Gancarcz (POL) won the Polish marathon title over Stanislaw Przybylko (POL), 2:45:28.2 to 2:48:35.

90 Years Ago- Harold "Mick" Hayden (AUS) ran 3:04:04.5 to win the Victorian (AUS) marathon title (Frankston to Melbourne).

Subscribe to the Runner's Web Weekly Digest
Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of News
Runner's Web FrontPage