Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Subscribe to stories like this

Posted: November 10, 2016  

Athletics: This Week in Running for Week Ending November 6th

From The Analytical Distance Runner, the newsletter for the Association of Road Racing Statisticians with a focus on races, 3000m and longer, including road, track, and cross-country events. The ARRS has a website at

From Ken Young -

10 Years Ago- Marilson Gomes dosSantos (BRA) ran 2:09:58 to win the ING New York City (NY/USA) Marathon ahead of four Kenyans. Stephen Kiogora was next at 2:10:06 and Paul Tergat was 3rd at 2:10:10. Jelena Prokopcuka (LAT) won the women's race over Tatyana Hladyr (UKR) by a minute, 2:25:05 to 2:26:05. Catherine Ndereba (KEN) was 3rd at 2:26:58. Deena Kastor (USA) was 5th (2:27:54) and Lornah Kiplagat (NED) was 8th (2:32:31).

20 Years Ago- Giacomo Leone (ITA) outran Tumo Turbo (ETH), 2:09:54 to 2:10:09 to win 27th edition of the New York City (NY/USA) Marathon. Joseph Kamau Njuguna (KEN) was 3rd at 2:10:40. Anuta Catuna (ROM) won the women's race over Franca Fiacconi (ITA), 2:28:18 to 2:28:42. Joyce Chepchumba Koech (KEN) ran 3rd with a 2:29:38 while Kim Jones (USA) was 4th (2:34:46). Tegla Loroupe (KEN) finished 7th at 2:37:19.

30 Years Ago- Italian men went 1-3-6 at the 17th edition of the New York City (NY/USA) Marathon. Gianni Poli (ITA) was the winner at 2:11:06 while Rob deCastella (AUS) came in 2nd at 2:11:43. Orlando Pizzolato (ITA) was 3rd at 2:12:13 and Salvatore Bettiol (ITA) was 6th (2:13:27). Grete Waitz (NOR) won the 8th of her 9 victories here with a 2:28:06. Lisa Ondieki (AUS) was next at 2:29:12 and Laura Fogli (ITA) was 3rd at 2:29:44.

40 Years Ago- Frank Bozanich (USA) defeated John Garlepp (USA) to win the National AAU (NY/USA) 50 mile title, 5:36:02 to 5:42:03.

50 Years Ago- Antonio Ambu (ITA) won the Italian marathon title with a 2:22:24.4.

60 Years Ago- Frans Herman (BEL) won the Azencross (BEL) 9K with a time of 30:50.

70 Years Ago- Ion Baboie (ROM) won the Romanian marathon title with a 3:00:27.

80 Years Ago- Isami Suzuki (JPN) ran 2:39:56 to win the Japanese marathon title.

90 Years Ago- Sam Ferris (ENG) won the Turin International (ITA) Marathon over Joseph Marien (BEL), 2:46:18.6 to 2:52:15.4. Angelo Malvicini (ITA) was 3rd at 2:53:52.

Subscribe to the Runner's Web Weekly Digest
Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of News
Runner's Web FrontPage