Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Subscribe to stories like this

Posted: December 14, 2016  

Athletics: This Week in Running for Week Ending December 11th

From The Analytical Distance Runner, the newsletter for the Association of Road Racing Statisticians with a focus on races, 3000m and longer, including road, track, and cross-country events. The ARRS has a website at

From Ken Young -

10 Years Ago- Mohamed Farah (ENG) won the gold medal at the SPAR European Cross Championships (ITA) 10K with Juan-Carlos delaOssa Yunta (ESP) ten seconds back for the silver medal. The bronze medalist Mustafa Mohamed (SWE) was another two seconds back. Tatyana Holovchenko (UKR) got a one second win over Mariya Konovalova (RUS) in the women's 8K with Olivera Jevtic (SER) taking the bronze medal, two seconds back of Konovalova.

20 Years Ago- The California International (CA/USA) lived up to its name as no Americans reached the podium. Patrick Muturi (KEN) was eight seconds ahead of Michal Bartoszak (POL), 2:14;19 TO 2:14:27 with Abderazzak Haki (MAR) completing the podium at 2:15:00. The women's race went to Rizoneide Vanderlei (BRA) who finished well ahead of Tatyana Maslova (RUS), 2:35:46 to 2:37:17. Krystyna Pieczulis (POL) was the 3rd woman at 2:37:51.

30 Years Ago- Jeff Rawlins (USA) ran ten seconds faster than runner-up Christopher Prior (USA) to win the 10th edition of the WZYP Rocket City (AL/USA) Marathon. Craig Thompson (USA) finished 3rd at 2:19:24. Karlene Herrell (USA) won the women's race by nearly two minutes over Karen Cosgrove (OH/USA), 2:45:14 to 2:47:02. Kim Trupp (AL/USA) ran 2:47:11 for 3rd. In contrast, this year's male winner ran 2:28:51 and Erica Speegle (USA) at 2:41:45 was the only woman under 2:50.

40 Years Ago- Duncan Macdonald (USA) won the 4th edition of the Honolulu (HI/USA) Marathon, clocking a 2:20:37. Ronald Wayne (USA) was next at 2:21:26 and Jack Fultz (USA) was 3rd at 2:24:05. Other notables included Jeff Galloway (USA) in 4th (2:24:42), Ken Moore (USA) in 5th (also in 2:24:42), Tony Sandoval (USA) in 7th (2:28:02), Jack Foster (NZL) in 8th (2:28:12), Mike Tymn (USA) in 13th (2:32:17), and Don Kardong (USA) in 17th (2:33:24). Kim Merritt (USA) won the women's race in a then course record of 2:44:44. Elizabeth Richards (AUS) was next at 2:50:26 and Gayle Barron (USA) was 3rd at 2:52:16. Other notables included Joan Ullyot (USA) in 5th (3:07:13), Cindy Dalrymple (USA) in 6th (3:08:01), and Ruth Anderson (USA) in 10th (3:18:17).

50 Years Ago- Michael Kimball (USA) won the 19th edition of the Western Hemisphere (CA/USA) Marathon in 2:27:10.4 with Eugene Comroe (USA) next at 2:29:52.4. Other notables included John Brennand (USA) in 6th (2:33:13), six-time Pike's Peak champion Steve Gachupin (NM/USA) in 8th (2:36:26), and ultramarathoner Robert Deines (USA) in 12th (2:40:58).

60 Years Ago- Keizo Yamada (JPN) won the 10th edition of the Asahi Shimbun (Nagoya JPN) Marathon in 2:25:15. This race was held at various venues until finally settling at Fukuoka where it held its 70th running last week.

Subscribe to the Runner's Web Weekly Digest
Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of News
Runner's Web FrontPage