Runner's Web



>
RUNNER'S WEB PRODUCT REVIEWS
Updated:   October 25, 2019
 
Jill Murray's Product Review Index
Jill is a maritimer who transplanted to Ottawa for its beautiful running paths and wonderful running community. A graduate of Kinesiology at St Francis Xavier University, Jill is a happily busy mother of three and spends most of her time transporting her children from one place to another - often while pushing a running stroller.
Jill shares her adventures in parenthood on her Instagram account @jillamama.
She is a member of the OACRacing Team.
January 15, 2019: Athletics: Tarah Wireless Sport Headphones Review
After using the earphones with two different phones for running and walking indoors and out, through many various temperatures and precipitation, I am officially a convert to wireless.
December 5, 2018: Athletics: Lotus Personal Safety Device Review
The Lotus Personal Safety device (LPSD) is marketed as a novel device that solves the problems of other 'single-feature solution' products which offer GPS tracking, panic buttons, or other one-way communication methods.
November 27, 2018: Athletics: Brooks Adrenaline GTS 19 Review
 
Samantha Calder-Sprackman's Product Review Index
Samantha Calder-Sprackman's Product Review Index
Hello! My name is Samantha Calder-Sprackman and I am a runner and Emergency Medicine Resident living in Ottawa, Ontario. Welcome to my product review column!
My running story: I started running three years ago to complete a half marathon and incorporate fitness into my busy daily routine. After running my first half marathon, I caught the ‘racing bug’ and was already looking to sign up for another race. I have now run three marathons since starting my short running career, including the Boston Marathon. Eight months ago I decided to take my recreational training to the next level and joined the Ottawa Athletic Club Women’s Racing Team. Since joining the team, I have been focusing on speed work at the 5k-10k distances. I am currently chasing a sub-20 minute 5k and am hoping that 2014 will be my year to achieve this goal!
My love of gear: Having completed an undergraduate degree in Physical and Health Education and Life Sciences from Queen’s University as well as a Medical Doctor Degree from the University of Ottawa, I have a strong appreciation for the importance of physical activity. However, I also understand that having the right gear can make physical activity (of any sorts) more enjoyable! Despite having a relatively short running career thus far, I have tested out a lot of gear: GPS watches, running shoes, hats, sports bras, compression socks – you name it! I particularly love the thrill of trying out a new product and determining if it will impact my running comfort or performance.
Product reviews: Several months ago, I was given the awesome opportunity to write product reviews for Runner’s Web. This column will be a compilation of product reviews based on my personal experience. Guarantee: With all reviews, I will ensure to test the product extensively before writing a review and forming an opinion. Disclaimer: I am not an expert; the thoughts and opinion expressed in these columns are my own and will always be truthful.
If you have a product that you would like tested out, please contact Ken Parker.
May 11, 2014: Product Review:The World Looks Better Through Happy Eyes - Fisherman Eyewear Ray Sunglass Review
March 10, 2014: Product Review: I WEAR MY SUNGLASSES AT NIGHT (and every other minute that I can):Guideline Eclipse Sunglass Review
January 14, 2014: Health and Fitness: SCOOP ON THE LOOP: Polar Loop Activity Tracker Review
November 18, 2013: Multisport: Lorpen Compression Calf Sleeves Review
 
November 17, 2015: Milestone Pod Review - Nadine Frost

| Top of Columns Index Page |

| FrontPage |